Skip to content

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

OEIT - Office of Educational Innovation and Technology

Facebooks Twitter

C Varenhorst

iCampus First Round Winners Announced

March 24, 2013

2013 iCampus Prize First Round Winners

The MIT Council for Educational Technology (MITCET) and the Office of Educational Technology and Innovation (OEIT) are pleased to announce the winners of the first round of the 2013 iCampus Student Prize competition. Each of the winning projects embody the spirit of the competition—they are developing real solutions to enhance life and learning at MIT.

The 2013 competition is a two-stage competition. In the first round, student teams were asked to create working prototypes, and to define the needs assessment and impact of their projects. We have selected the five winners, which are described below, that will each receive a $1,000 prize. The first round winners are then invited to compete in the final round where they are vying for a grand prize of up to $10,000 and are expected to deliver fully functional projects.

First Round Winners

The 2013 iCampus Student Prize first round winners are:

  • EduCase: EduCase is the easiest, quickest, and cheapest way to record video lectures – no cameraman, no hours wasted editing. Professor walks, folds open his EduCase, and presses a button for a hassle-free-lecture-recording experience. Team: Sara Itani ‘Grad, Fang-Yu Liu ‘Grad, Riccardo Campari ‘Grad, Adin Schmahmann ’13
  • Lounge: Lounge, speeds up and automates the housing reassignment process at MIT. Team: Abubakar Abid ’15, Abdulrahman Alfozan ’15, Aziz Alghunaim ’15
  • Terminus: Terminus is a text-based adventure game, aimed at teaching the player to use the command line with basic commands. Team: Michele Pratusevich ’13, Shawn Conrad, MEng ’13
  • touchBase: touchBase has created a business card that looks and feels like a traditional paper cards, but its information can be downloaded to a touchscreen smartphone with just a simple tap to help admits find one another after Campus Preview Weekends (CPW). Team: Sai To Yeung ’14, Frank Ni ’14, James Allen ’16, Jon Warneke ’15
  • WhichClass: Which classes cover the material I want to learn? Which classes match my learning style/objectives? WhichClass is an online exploration tool to make it easier to filter classes, and visualize connections between classes within and across departments. Team: Aakanksha Sarda, ’14

The judging panel included Edwin Guarin from Microsoft, Luong Hoang from Microsoft, Vijay Kumar from OEIT, Brandon Muramatsu from OEIT, Paul Oka from Microsoft Research, and Oliver Thomas from Information Systems and Technology.

Final Round Competition

The final round is scheduled for Wednesday, May 1, 2013 from 3-6pm in the Stata Center. The final round competition will include a poster session to allow guests and judges to speak with each group and learn more about the projects. The competition concludes with a lightning round of 5 minute presentations by each group. Judges for the competition will include representatives from Microsoft, MIT faculty and staff, and others.

More Information

For more information on the iCampus Student Prize, and for details on the final round competition, please visit:

About the iCampus Prize

The iCampus Technology Innovation Student Prize recognizes the innovative and creative application of technology that improves the educational and student life experiences at MIT. The competition builds upon the entrepreneurism and spirit of service exhibited by MIT students to solve the world’s problems by focusing attention of what might be improved closer to home in MIT’s education and student life.

The competition is open to all current MIT undergraduates and graduate students, both individuals and groups. Entries must involve the use of technology to enhance life and learning at MIT, and they must be developed to the point where MIT could adopt them and make them part of its environment.

Office of Educational Innovation and Technology
Building NE48-308, Cambridge, MA 02139-4307
Phone: (617) 252-1981; Fax: (617) 452-4044